Fourth Annual Coaches of the Year Nominations Open

Posted by on Jul 9 in News

Awards to Recognize Volunteer Coaches’ Commitment to Kids

WATERLOO, IOWA (July 9, 2014) – The fourth annual Build Our Ballpark Coaches of the Year ceremony will take place Monday, August 4, honoring volunteer youth baseball and softball coaches in Waterloo.

Hosted by Build Our Ballpark and Waterloo Leisure Services, the Coaches of the Year awards began in 2011 to recognize coaches who exceed expectations in teaching kids about baseball, softball and life.

Bob Hellman founded Build Our Ballpark, a nonprofit dedicated to providing kids quality places to play, and says this was an important tradition to start.

“Coaching is a major commitment – not only in terms of time and energy, but also in terms of bettering kids’ lives,” said Hellman. “It’s really special that we get to recognize all their hard work in this way.”

Nominations may be submitted by players and parents through July 20, via

Coaches nominated for a Build Our Ballpark Coaches of the Year Award will be evaluated in three categories: leadership, sportsmanship, and going above and beyond what is expected.

As in past years, coaches will be nominated in nine categories: Assistant Coach of the Year; Breakout Coach of the Year (first-year coach); T-ball/Coach Pitch; Softball 2nd-3rd Grade AA; Baseball 2nd-3rd Grade AA; Softball 4th-5th Grade AAA; Baseball 4th-5th Grade AAA; Softball 6th-8th Grade Major League; Baseball 6th-8th Grade Major League.

The award ceremony will take place at the Waterloo Boat House, 707 Park Road, August 4, at 5:15 p.m. After the presentation of awards, those in attendance are invited to Riverfront Stadium for a Waterloo Bucks game.

Download the PDF